Connecticut State Chess Association

a 501(c)(7) nonprofit corporation



2022 HONORS OF THE CONNECTICUT CHESS COMMUNITY

Player of the Year NM ZACHARY TANENBAUM

> Female Player of the Year ELIZABETH SMITH

Scholastic Player of the Year IM MAXIMILLIAN LU

Senior Player of the Year GM SERGEY KUDRIN

Coach of the Year NM ARSLAN OTCHIYEV Chess Club of Fairfield County and Sacred Heart University Chess

> Organizer of the Year ALVIN HAMILTON Fairfield County Scholastic Chess League

Volunteers of the Year PARAG JOSHI Faculty Advisor, Manchester High School Chess Club

TIMOTHY JACQUES President, Eastern Connecticut State University Chess Club

> DOUGLAS FISKE Tournament Director, New Britain Chess Club

Chess Club of the Year NEW BRITAIN CHESS CLUB Suhas Kodali, President

Scholastic Club of the Year SIMSBURY LIBRARY CHESS AND GO CLUB Gert Hilhorst, chief organizer Elizabeth Smith and Mike Scudder, volunteer coaches

Collegiate Club of the Year YALE CHESS CLUB Maxim Yaskolko, Christopher Tanaka, George Wang and Jake Wang, co-Presidents

Tournament of the Year BRIDGEPORT OPEN FEATURING GM MAXIME VACHIER-LAGRAVE DIG Chess, Jithu Sajeevan, chief organizer IM Jan van de Mortel, TD

Community Event of the Year SUMMER LECTURE & SIMUL FEATURING GM SERGEY KUDRIN Sacred Heart University Chess, Paul Rychlik, chief organizer

Award for Exemplary Contribution to Connecticut Chess

GERT HILHORST

for many years of voluntary service to Simsbury High School, Simsbury's Henry James Middle School, Simsbury Library Chess Club, Northern Connecticut Scholastic Chess League, New Britain Chess Club and the CSCA

Congratulations to all of the recipients and our entire chess community!
